Book Review – Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Despite having an enormous to-read pile, I couldn’t walk past this striking cover in the book shop without adding it to my basket.

untitled (3)

This is the book description on Amazon:  ‘A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.’  Who could resist?

 

The Book Blurb:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers.  And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until a twist of fate brings her before the Silver court.  Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly ability of her own.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the king hides her in plain view: betrothed to his youngest son.  Trapped, Mare decided to use her new position to bring down the regime – from the inside.

But this is a game of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…

 

My Review:

Immediately you are drawn into a world of two halves – reds and silvers. Our heroine, Mare Barrow is a Red, and very good at it! Her life is hard and cruel, but she has the even greater threat of conscription to the war torn lands hanging over her.

Her fate changes following a chance encounter one evening.

What comes next is a fast-paced explosion of action. Highly descriptive, this story will toy with your heart and then spit it out into a sandy arena, where you must fight for your life against the multitude of ‘powers’ that the Silvers possess.

The relationship between Mare and her lifelong friend, Kilorn, is the turning point in the story.  She will do anything to save her friend – including risk her own life.  We see a softer side to Mare as she introduces us to her family, and in particular her sister.

The story arc is complete but leaves plenty of loose ends for further development. I look forward to book two.

5 * review

Amazon Link to Purchase Red Queen: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00QQNW28S

 

One thought on “Book Review – Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s